Updating a Google Drive file without changing the shared link

Updating a Google Drive file without changing the shared link

google_drive_original_button

It happened to you to update an already shared file on Google Drive and you found yourself trying redo all configurations already made on the previous version of the file?

Google has thought of you and has made available an option that allows you to avoid all again.

This option is called “versioning“.

“Managing version …” as written on the Google Drive gives you the ability to update a shared file already on the drive without touching or restrictions or authorizations nor the link.

This manipulation is easy to set up, you just have the information.

That’s why I decided to share with you the solution. Without further ado, let’s go!.

 

Update the shared file without touching the restriction or the permission or the link

You will not have to download or install. The version management option is available to you by Google.

Replace Files in Google Drive

  1. Go to your Google Drive and select any file that you would like to update. This is applicable for files that are not in that native Google Docs format like PDF, images, text files or even videos.
  2. Right-click the file, choose Manage Versions from the menu and then click Upload new version button to upload the updated file to your Google Drive.
  3. That’s it. The file name and the file’s URL won’t change and thus all the old shared links will now automatically point to the new version of your file.

Capture

 

You can use the same method to replace a file in one format with another format. For instance, if you have a video file in Drive that you would like to replace with a GIF animation of smaller file size, the Manage Versions option will do the trick. And the shared link won’t change either.


 

(Visited 73 times, 1 visits today)

Post Author: gyoby

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *